Charity profile · Historical source record

Arts and Education Council

Historical collection: May 2019 · Rating details mostly from 2017. Source & context

The mission

What this organization describes

Keep art happening
Founded in 1963, the Arts and Education Council (A&E) is a privately funded arts fundraising organization whose geographic reach benefits the 16-county, bi-state St. Louis metropolitan region. The Arts and Education Council enriches the vibrancy of the St. Louis community by investing in arts organizations and growing the base of local arts supporters. A&E owns and manages the Centene Center for the Arts in St. Louis' Arts District, providing arts organizations of all sizes below-market rent, free rehearsal, meeting and performance space, professional development opportunities through workshops and roundtables and access to fiber optic internet, servers, etc.

Mission and tagline reproduced from the source record.

Historical scorecard

Three perspectives. One record.

79.45Overall score
out of 100
70.95Financial score
out of 100
100.00Accountability & transparency
out of 100

These are the dataset’s historical numeric fields, not a current rating or a new DonorAPI.com assessment. Read the score context ↗

Financial context

Revenue, expenses, and composition

Total revenue · USD$2,286,613
Total expenses · USD$2,247,136

Program expenses

$1,788,720.26 recorded amount
79.6%

Fundraising expenses

$314,599.04 recorded amount
14.0%

Administrative expenses

$141,569.57 recorded amount
6.3%
Fundraising efficiency
$0.13 spent per $1 raised in donations, as defined in the source.

Expense shares are displayed as percentages. Component amounts in this collection match total expenses multiplied by the source ratios; rounding can leave a small difference from the total. The source does not supply a row-specific fiscal year. Field definitions ↗

Historical leadership record

The leadership information supplied

Recorded leader
Cynthia Prost
Recorded compensation
$187,198.00
Recorded compensation percentage
8.33%

These fields do not establish the current officeholder or current compensation. The metadata does not specify the denominator of the leader compensation percentage. Read with context ↗

Inspect all 23 original source fields

Exact source strings are retained below, including numeric precision. A blank value is marked as not reported; zero remains zero.

All 23 original fields for Arts and Education Council
Source fieldOriginal source value
ascore
Accountability & transparency score
100.0
category
Category
Arts, Culture, Humanities
description
Mission & description
Founded in 1963, the Arts and Education Council (A&E) is a privately funded arts fundraising organization whose geographic reach benefits the 16-county, bi-state St. Louis metropolitan region. The Arts and Education Council enriches the vibrancy of the St. Louis community by investing in arts organizations and growing the base of local arts supporters. A&E owns and manages the Centene Center for the Arts in St. Louis' Arts District, providing arts organizations of all sizes below-market rent, free rehearsal, meeting and performance space, professional development opportunities through workshops and roundtables and access to fiber optic internet, servers, etc.
ein
EIN
43-0790672
tot_exp
Total expenses
2247136.0
admin_exp_p
Administrative expense fraction
0.063
fund_eff
Fundraising efficiency ($ per $1 raised)
0.13
fund_exp_p
Fundraising expense fraction
0.14
program_exp_p
Program expense fraction
0.7959999999999999
fscore
Financial score
70.95
leader
Recorded leader
Cynthia Prost
leader_comp
Recorded leader compensation
187198.0
leader_comp_p
Recorded leader compensation fraction
0.0833
motto
Tagline
Keep art happening
name
Charity name
Arts and Education Council
tot_rev
Total revenue
2286613.0
score
Overall score
79.45
state
State code
MO
subcategory
Subcategory
Performing Arts
size
Source size label
small
program_exp
Program expenses
1788720.2559999998
fund_exp
Fundraising expenses
314599.04000000004
admin_exp
Administrative expenses
141569.568

Source: Charity Navigator Scores Expenses Dataset, version 1, attributed to katyjqian on Kaggle. Collection: May 2019; rating details mostly from 2017. Read attribution, scope, and reuse notes.