Charity profile · Historical source record

DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum

Historical collection: May 2019 · Rating details mostly from 2017. Source & context

The mission

What this organization describes

Educating the public about modern and contemporary American art
Opened in 1950, DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum fosters the creation, exhibition, and exploration of contemporary art through our exhibitions, learning opportunities, and unique park setting. DeCordova educates through exhibitions, collections, classes, outreach programs, and a full schedule of activities designed to enhance our public's engagement with art and artists. With over 3,500 works in its holdings, the Museum features an important permanent collection of New England contemporary art. DeCordova is the largest sculpture park in New England. Close to 50 modern and contemporary works grace the 30-acre site.

Mission and tagline reproduced from the source record.

Historical scorecard

Three perspectives. One record.

79.43Overall score
out of 100
73.07Financial score
out of 100
89.00Accountability & transparency
out of 100

These are the dataset’s historical numeric fields, not a current rating or a new DonorAPI.com assessment. Read the score context ↗

Financial context

Revenue, expenses, and composition

Total revenue · USD$3,938,212
Total expenses · USD$4,862,222

Program expenses

$3,325,759.85 recorded amount
68.4%

Fundraising expenses

$466,773.31 recorded amount
9.6%

Administrative expenses

$1,064,826.62 recorded amount
21.9%
Fundraising efficiency
$0.22 spent per $1 raised in donations, as defined in the source.

Expense shares are displayed as percentages. Component amounts in this collection match total expenses multiplied by the source ratios; rounding can leave a small difference from the total. The source does not supply a row-specific fiscal year. Field definitions ↗

Historical leadership record

The leadership information supplied

Recorded leader
John Ravenal
Recorded compensation
$197,531.00
Recorded compensation percentage
4.06%

These fields do not establish the current officeholder or current compensation. The metadata does not specify the denominator of the leader compensation percentage. Read with context ↗

Inspect all 23 original source fields

Exact source strings are retained below, including numeric precision. A blank value is marked as not reported; zero remains zero.

All 23 original fields for DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum
Source fieldOriginal source value
ascore
Accountability & transparency score
89.0
category
Category
Arts, Culture, Humanities
description
Mission & description
Opened in 1950, DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum fosters the creation, exhibition, and exploration of contemporary art through our exhibitions, learning opportunities, and unique park setting. DeCordova educates through exhibitions, collections, classes, outreach programs, and a full schedule of activities designed to enhance our public's engagement with art and artists. With over 3,500 works in its holdings, the Museum features an important permanent collection of New England contemporary art. DeCordova is the largest sculpture park in New England. Close to 50 modern and contemporary works grace the 30-acre site.
ein
EIN
04-2067315
tot_exp
Total expenses
4862222.0
admin_exp_p
Administrative expense fraction
0.21899999999999997
fund_eff
Fundraising efficiency ($ per $1 raised)
0.22
fund_exp_p
Fundraising expense fraction
0.096
program_exp_p
Program expense fraction
0.684
fscore
Financial score
73.07
leader
Recorded leader
John Ravenal
leader_comp
Recorded leader compensation
197531.0
leader_comp_p
Recorded leader compensation fraction
0.0406
motto
Tagline
Educating the public about modern and contemporary American art
name
Charity name
DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum
tot_rev
Total revenue
3938212.0
score
Overall score
79.43
state
State code
MA
subcategory
Subcategory
Museums
size
Source size label
mid
program_exp
Program expenses
3325759.848
fund_exp
Fundraising expenses
466773.31200000003
admin_exp
Administrative expenses
1064826.6179999998

Source: Charity Navigator Scores Expenses Dataset, version 1, attributed to katyjqian on Kaggle. Collection: May 2019; rating details mostly from 2017. Read attribution, scope, and reuse notes.