Charity profile · Historical source record

Doheny Eye Institute

EIN 95-2916590HealthCaliforniaLarge

Historical collection: May 2019 · Rating details mostly from 2017. Source & context

The mission

What this organization describes

To further the conservation, improvement and restoration of human eyesight.
Founded in 1947, the Doheny Eye Institute works to further the conservation, improvement and restoration of human eyesight. Today, Doheny Eye Institute is a top-ranked research, education, and patient care group of organizations working together under an affiliation agreement between Doheny Eye Institute, and USC's Doheny Eye Medical Group and Department of Ophthalmology. Our vision is to become the premier vision research, education, and tertiary patient care eye institute in the world through the discovery of new knowledge, innovative eye care, and the education of the leaders of ophthalmology and vision science.

Mission and tagline reproduced from the source record.

Historical scorecard

Three perspectives. One record.

82.85Overall score
out of 100
76.09Financial score
out of 100
96.00Accountability & transparency
out of 100

These are the dataset’s historical numeric fields, not a current rating or a new DonorAPI.com assessment. Read the score context ↗

Financial context

Revenue, expenses, and composition

Total revenue · USD$119,643,539
Total expenses · USD$23,595,251

Program expenses

$14,440,293.61 recorded amount
61.2%

Fundraising expenses

$1,203,357.80 recorded amount
5.1%

Administrative expenses

$7,904,409.09 recorded amount
33.5%
Fundraising efficiency
$0.22 spent per $1 raised in donations, as defined in the source.

Expense shares are displayed as percentages. Component amounts in this collection match total expenses multiplied by the source ratios; rounding can leave a small difference from the total. The source does not supply a row-specific fiscal year. Field definitions ↗

Historical leadership record

The leadership information supplied

Recorded leader
Marissa Goldberg
Recorded compensation
$450,723.00
Recorded compensation percentage
1.91%

These fields do not establish the current officeholder or current compensation. The metadata does not specify the denominator of the leader compensation percentage. Read with context ↗

Inspect all 23 original source fields

Exact source strings are retained below, including numeric precision. A blank value is marked as not reported; zero remains zero.

All 23 original fields for Doheny Eye Institute
Source fieldOriginal source value
ascore
Accountability & transparency score
96.0
category
Category
Health
description
Mission & description
Founded in 1947, the Doheny Eye Institute works to further the conservation, improvement and restoration of human eyesight. Today, Doheny Eye Institute is a top-ranked research, education, and patient care group of organizations working together under an affiliation agreement between Doheny Eye Institute, and USC's Doheny Eye Medical Group and Department of Ophthalmology. Our vision is to become the premier vision research, education, and tertiary patient care eye institute in the world through the discovery of new knowledge, innovative eye care, and the education of the leaders of ophthalmology and vision science.
ein
EIN
95-2916590
tot_exp
Total expenses
23595251.0
admin_exp_p
Administrative expense fraction
0.335
fund_eff
Fundraising efficiency ($ per $1 raised)
0.22
fund_exp_p
Fundraising expense fraction
0.051
program_exp_p
Program expense fraction
0.612
fscore
Financial score
76.09
leader
Recorded leader
Marissa Goldberg
leader_comp
Recorded leader compensation
450723.0
leader_comp_p
Recorded leader compensation fraction
0.0191
motto
Tagline
To further the conservation, improvement and restoration of human eyesight.
name
Charity name
Doheny Eye Institute
tot_rev
Total revenue
119643539.0
score
Overall score
82.85
state
State code
CA
subcategory
Subcategory
Medical Research
size
Source size label
big
program_exp
Program expenses
14440293.612
fund_exp
Fundraising expenses
1203357.801
admin_exp
Administrative expenses
7904409.085000001

Source: Charity Navigator Scores Expenses Dataset, version 1, attributed to katyjqian on Kaggle. Collection: May 2019; rating details mostly from 2017. Read attribution, scope, and reuse notes.