Charity profile · Historical source record

I Know I Can

Historical collection: May 2019 · Rating details mostly from 2017. Source & context

The mission

What this organization describes

Helping Columbus City school students enter and succeed in college
I Know I Can gives every qualified Columbus Public School District graduate the opportunity to go to college. The program was founded in 1988 on the belief that every child who wishes to pursue higher education should have the opportunity to do so and should not be denied that right because of his or her economic status. We believe that by removing the motivational, informational and financial roadblocks to success, we can help level the educational playing field for Columbus city students and graduates. We motivate students to stay in school and pursue college, advise students and parents how to apply to college and access financial aid, fund students with Last Dollar Grant and leverage additional financial assistance, and support students once in college to help ensure completion.

Mission and tagline reproduced from the source record.

Historical scorecard

Three perspectives. One record.

98.05Overall score
out of 100
97.25Financial score
out of 100
100.00Accountability & transparency
out of 100

These are the dataset’s historical numeric fields, not a current rating or a new DonorAPI.com assessment. Read the score context ↗

Financial context

Revenue, expenses, and composition

Total revenue · USD$7,478,047
Total expenses · USD$4,477,894

Program expenses

$3,810,687.79 recorded amount
85.1%

Fundraising expenses

$232,850.49 recorded amount
5.2%

Administrative expenses

$425,399.93 recorded amount
9.5%
Fundraising efficiency
$0.03 spent per $1 raised in donations, as defined in the source.

Expense shares are displayed as percentages. Component amounts in this collection match total expenses multiplied by the source ratios; rounding can leave a small difference from the total. The source does not supply a row-specific fiscal year. Field definitions ↗

Historical leadership record

The leadership information supplied

Recorded leader
Katina Fullen
Recorded compensation
$158,986.00
Recorded compensation percentage
3.55%

These fields do not establish the current officeholder or current compensation. The metadata does not specify the denominator of the leader compensation percentage. Read with context ↗

Inspect all 23 original source fields

Exact source strings are retained below, including numeric precision. A blank value is marked as not reported; zero remains zero.

All 23 original fields for I Know I Can
Source fieldOriginal source value
ascore
Accountability & transparency score
100.0
category
Category
Education
description
Mission & description
I Know I Can gives every qualified Columbus Public School District graduate the opportunity to go to college. The program was founded in 1988 on the belief that every child who wishes to pursue higher education should have the opportunity to do so and should not be denied that right because of his or her economic status. We believe that by removing the motivational, informational and financial roadblocks to success, we can help level the educational playing field for Columbus city students and graduates. We motivate students to stay in school and pursue college, advise students and parents how to apply to college and access financial aid, fund students with Last Dollar Grant and leverage additional financial assistance, and support students once in college to help ensure completion.
ein
EIN
31-1229135
tot_exp
Total expenses
4477894.0
admin_exp_p
Administrative expense fraction
0.095
fund_eff
Fundraising efficiency ($ per $1 raised)
0.03
fund_exp_p
Fundraising expense fraction
0.052000000000000005
program_exp_p
Program expense fraction
0.851
fscore
Financial score
97.25
leader
Recorded leader
Katina Fullen
leader_comp
Recorded leader compensation
158986.0
leader_comp_p
Recorded leader compensation fraction
0.0355
motto
Tagline
Helping Columbus City school students enter and succeed in college
name
Charity name
I Know I Can
tot_rev
Total revenue
7478047.0
score
Overall score
98.05
state
State code
OH
subcategory
Subcategory
Scholarship and Financial Support
size
Source size label
mid
program_exp
Program expenses
3810687.7939999998
fund_exp
Fundraising expenses
232850.488
admin_exp
Administrative expenses
425399.93

Source: Charity Navigator Scores Expenses Dataset, version 1, attributed to katyjqian on Kaggle. Collection: May 2019; rating details mostly from 2017. Read attribution, scope, and reuse notes.