Charity profile · Historical source record

Primarily Primates

EIN 74-2164756AnimalsTexasSmall

Historical collection: May 2019 · Rating details mostly from 2017. Source & context

The mission

What this organization describes

Housing, protecting, and rehabilitating various non-native animals
Primarily Primates was founded in 1978. Its current board, structured in 2007 under an agreement with the Attorney General of the State of Texas, includes a long-time sanctuary facilitator with extensive primate experience, and the president of the animal-advocacy group Friends of Animals. Primarily Primates is a sanctuary in Bexar County, Texas that operates to house, protect, and rehabilitate various non-native animals. The private refuge currently houses several hundred nonhuman animals, and, as the name implies, focuses primarily on caring for apes and monkeys.

Mission and tagline reproduced from the source record.

Historical scorecard

Three perspectives. One record.

91.36Overall score
out of 100
90.00Financial score
out of 100
93.00Accountability & transparency
out of 100

These are the dataset’s historical numeric fields, not a current rating or a new DonorAPI.com assessment. Read the score context ↗

Financial context

Revenue, expenses, and composition

Total revenue · USD$1,200,772
Total expenses · USD$1,267,807

Program expenses

$1,110,598.93 recorded amount
87.6%

Fundraising expenses

$43,105.44 recorded amount
3.4%

Administrative expenses

$112,834.82 recorded amount
8.9%
Fundraising efficiency
$0.03 spent per $1 raised in donations, as defined in the source.

Expense shares are displayed as percentages. Component amounts in this collection match total expenses multiplied by the source ratios; rounding can leave a small difference from the total. The source does not supply a row-specific fiscal year. Field definitions ↗

Historical leadership record

The leadership information supplied

Recorded leader
Brooke Chavez
Recorded compensation
$41,846.00
Recorded compensation percentage
3.30%

These fields do not establish the current officeholder or current compensation. The metadata does not specify the denominator of the leader compensation percentage. Read with context ↗

Inspect all 23 original source fields

Exact source strings are retained below, including numeric precision. A blank value is marked as not reported; zero remains zero.

All 23 original fields for Primarily Primates
Source fieldOriginal source value
ascore
Accountability & transparency score
93.0
category
Category
Animals
description
Mission & description
Primarily Primates was founded in 1978. Its current board, structured in 2007 under an agreement with the Attorney General of the State of Texas, includes a long-time sanctuary facilitator with extensive primate experience, and the president of the animal-advocacy group Friends of Animals. Primarily Primates is a sanctuary in Bexar County, Texas that operates to house, protect, and rehabilitate various non-native animals. The private refuge currently houses several hundred nonhuman animals, and, as the name implies, focuses primarily on caring for apes and monkeys.
ein
EIN
74-2164756
tot_exp
Total expenses
1267807.0
admin_exp_p
Administrative expense fraction
0.08900000000000001
fund_eff
Fundraising efficiency ($ per $1 raised)
0.03
fund_exp_p
Fundraising expense fraction
0.034
program_exp_p
Program expense fraction
0.8759999999999999
fscore
Financial score
90.0
leader
Recorded leader
Brooke Chavez
leader_comp
Recorded leader compensation
41846.0
leader_comp_p
Recorded leader compensation fraction
0.033
motto
Tagline
Housing, protecting, and rehabilitating various non-native animals
name
Charity name
Primarily Primates
tot_rev
Total revenue
1200772.0
score
Overall score
91.36
state
State code
TX
subcategory
Subcategory
Wildlife Conservation
size
Source size label
small
program_exp
Program expenses
1110598.9319999998
fund_exp
Fundraising expenses
43105.438
admin_exp
Administrative expenses
112834.82300000002

Source: Charity Navigator Scores Expenses Dataset, version 1, attributed to katyjqian on Kaggle. Collection: May 2019; rating details mostly from 2017. Read attribution, scope, and reuse notes.