Charity profile · Historical source record

Southwest School of Art

Historical collection: May 2019 · Rating details mostly from 2017. Source & context

The mission

What this organization describes

Art for life
The Southwest School of Art works to teach, preserve, and advance the visual arts. We expand the creative potential of our community and connect cultures of the world through participatory learning experience. An additional part of our mission is to preserve the former Ursuline Convent and Academy as a place of historic significance. The Southwest School of Art is a nationally-recognized leader in arts education, currently offering studio programs for more than 4,000 adults, children and teens annually on its campus. The school also organizes contemporary art exhibitions, and houses a small history museum, and a lunch café.

Mission and tagline reproduced from the source record.

Historical scorecard

Three perspectives. One record.

84.25Overall score
out of 100
80.64Financial score
out of 100
89.00Accountability & transparency
out of 100

These are the dataset’s historical numeric fields, not a current rating or a new DonorAPI.com assessment. Read the score context ↗

Financial context

Revenue, expenses, and composition

Total revenue · USD$5,521,382
Total expenses · USD$5,289,868

Program expenses

$4,152,546.38 recorded amount
78.5%

Fundraising expenses

$333,261.68 recorded amount
6.3%

Administrative expenses

$798,770.07 recorded amount
15.1%
Fundraising efficiency
$0.14 spent per $1 raised in donations, as defined in the source.

Expense shares are displayed as percentages. Component amounts in this collection match total expenses multiplied by the source ratios; rounding can leave a small difference from the total. The source does not supply a row-specific fiscal year. Field definitions ↗

Historical leadership record

The leadership information supplied

Recorded leader
Paula Owen
Recorded compensation
$175,012.00
Recorded compensation percentage
3.30%

These fields do not establish the current officeholder or current compensation. The metadata does not specify the denominator of the leader compensation percentage. Read with context ↗

Inspect all 23 original source fields

Exact source strings are retained below, including numeric precision. A blank value is marked as not reported; zero remains zero.

All 23 original fields for Southwest School of Art
Source fieldOriginal source value
ascore
Accountability & transparency score
89.0
category
Category
Education
description
Mission & description
The Southwest School of Art works to teach, preserve, and advance the visual arts. We expand the creative potential of our community and connect cultures of the world through participatory learning experience. An additional part of our mission is to preserve the former Ursuline Convent and Academy as a place of historic significance. The Southwest School of Art is a nationally-recognized leader in arts education, currently offering studio programs for more than 4,000 adults, children and teens annually on its campus. The school also organizes contemporary art exhibitions, and houses a small history museum, and a lunch café.
ein
EIN
74-6068932
tot_exp
Total expenses
5289868.0
admin_exp_p
Administrative expense fraction
0.151
fund_eff
Fundraising efficiency ($ per $1 raised)
0.14
fund_exp_p
Fundraising expense fraction
0.063
program_exp_p
Program expense fraction
0.785
fscore
Financial score
80.64
leader
Recorded leader
Paula Owen
leader_comp
Recorded leader compensation
175012.0
leader_comp_p
Recorded leader compensation fraction
0.033
motto
Tagline
Art for life
name
Charity name
Southwest School of Art
tot_rev
Total revenue
5521382.0
score
Overall score
84.25
state
State code
TX
subcategory
Subcategory
Youth Education Programs and Services
size
Source size label
mid
program_exp
Program expenses
4152546.3800000004
fund_exp
Fundraising expenses
333261.684
admin_exp
Administrative expenses
798770.068

Source: Charity Navigator Scores Expenses Dataset, version 1, attributed to katyjqian on Kaggle. Collection: May 2019; rating details mostly from 2017. Read attribution, scope, and reuse notes.