Charity profile · Historical source record

Summit Academy OIC

Historical collection: May 2019 · Rating details mostly from 2017. Source & context

The mission

What this organization describes

Training for life
Summit Academy OIC (SAOIC) is an educational and vocational training center that empowers adults and prepares youth residing in the most economically depressed neighborhoods in the Twin Cities to become educated, employed contributing members of their community. Located in the Heritage Park neighborhood of North Minneapolis, Summit Academy OIC is the only community-based vocational training and job placement program in North Minneapolis. We exist to assist individuals in developing their ability to earn and to become contributing citizens in their community. We support the development of self-sufficiency in every person, regardless of background, economic status, or level of ability.

Mission and tagline reproduced from the source record.

Historical scorecard

Three perspectives. One record.

93.46Overall score
out of 100
91.67Financial score
out of 100
96.00Accountability & transparency
out of 100

These are the dataset’s historical numeric fields, not a current rating or a new DonorAPI.com assessment. Read the score context ↗

Financial context

Revenue, expenses, and composition

Total revenue · USD$8,600,589
Total expenses · USD$7,997,922

Program expenses

$6,566,293.96 recorded amount
82.1%

Fundraising expenses

$655,829.60 recorded amount
8.2%

Administrative expenses

$759,802.59 recorded amount
9.5%
Fundraising efficiency
$0.10 spent per $1 raised in donations, as defined in the source.

Expense shares are displayed as percentages. Component amounts in this collection match total expenses multiplied by the source ratios; rounding can leave a small difference from the total. The source does not supply a row-specific fiscal year. Field definitions ↗

Historical leadership record

The leadership information supplied

Recorded leader
Louis J. King II
Recorded compensation
$165,623.00
Recorded compensation percentage
2.07%

These fields do not establish the current officeholder or current compensation. The metadata does not specify the denominator of the leader compensation percentage. Read with context ↗

Inspect all 23 original source fields

Exact source strings are retained below, including numeric precision. A blank value is marked as not reported; zero remains zero.

All 23 original fields for Summit Academy OIC
Source fieldOriginal source value
ascore
Accountability & transparency score
96.0
category
Category
Education
description
Mission & description
Summit Academy OIC (SAOIC) is an educational and vocational training center that empowers adults and prepares youth residing in the most economically depressed neighborhoods in the Twin Cities to become educated, employed contributing members of their community. Located in the Heritage Park neighborhood of North Minneapolis, Summit Academy OIC is the only community-based vocational training and job placement program in North Minneapolis. We exist to assist individuals in developing their ability to earn and to become contributing citizens in their community. We support the development of self-sufficiency in every person, regardless of background, economic status, or level of ability.
ein
EIN
41-0908458
tot_exp
Total expenses
7997922.0
admin_exp_p
Administrative expense fraction
0.095
fund_eff
Fundraising efficiency ($ per $1 raised)
0.1
fund_exp_p
Fundraising expense fraction
0.08199999999999999
program_exp_p
Program expense fraction
0.821
fscore
Financial score
91.67
leader
Recorded leader
Louis J. King II
leader_comp
Recorded leader compensation
165623.0
leader_comp_p
Recorded leader compensation fraction
0.0207
motto
Tagline
Training for life
name
Charity name
Summit Academy OIC
tot_rev
Total revenue
8600589.0
score
Overall score
93.46
state
State code
MN
subcategory
Subcategory
Adult Education Programs and Services
size
Source size label
mid
program_exp
Program expenses
6566293.961999999
fund_exp
Fundraising expenses
655829.6039999999
admin_exp
Administrative expenses
759802.59

Source: Charity Navigator Scores Expenses Dataset, version 1, attributed to katyjqian on Kaggle. Collection: May 2019; rating details mostly from 2017. Read attribution, scope, and reuse notes.